School Business Official of the Year Awards

School business officials in Ohio are responsible annually for billions of public dollars. Their successful management of those dollars, their personal successes and accomplishments, as well as their selfless service to their school system, their profession and their community is often a well-kept secret. At the January 1985 board meeting of the Foundation for School Business Management trustees, an awards program was established to recognize these individuals on an annual basis. There are currently four categories of this prestigious award:

  • Outstanding Food Service Director of the Year
  • Outstanding Transportation Director of the Year
  • Outstanding Business Operations Manager of the Year
  • Outstanding Treasurer/CFO of the Year

Each year, recipients are honored at the Ohio School Boards Association Capital Conference and OASBO Annual Workshop & Trade Show. Each award winner receives a plaque and a $500 scholarship to be granted to a graduating senior from their district of employment.

If a certificate or license is required to hold the position, please indicate this number on the nomination form*. A minimum number of service years is not required to qualify for the award, but a nominee should have sufficient experience to allow the selection committee to adequately evaluate the nominee's achievements. (Members of the Foundation Board of Trustees are not eligible for awards).

*For the Business Operations Manager of the Year, you need not be a licensed Business Manager to be considered for the award, but applicants must be the administrator responsible for business/operations management in their district. Treasurer/CFO's who have also been assigned business operations management responsibilities in their districts are not eligible for the Business Operations Manager award.

Click here to download the Application.

See a list of past winners.