Regional Distinguished Service Awards

The OASBO Distinguished Service Awards Program is a series of 5 regional awards, recognizing one individual from each region.  Recipients of these awards are recognized for significant contributions to his/her profession through professional attainment (credentials, continuing education), as well as publications and presentations about the profession.  Each recipient will receive a $500 scholarship, to be awarded to a graduating senior from a high school in their district. 

Of the 5 award recipients, an overall winner will be chosen to receive the Virginia Ramsey Service Award.  *That winner will be awarded an additional $1000 scholarship. 

Virginia Ramsey is a retired SBO.  Virginia dedicated many hours to improving OASBO’s Annual Workshop & Trade Show each and every year.  As a result, in 2004, the OASBO Board of Directors created the First Annual Virginia Ramsey award to recognize her for her significate contributions to the OASBO Annual Workshop & Trade Show.

The recipient of the Virginia Ramsey Award is encouraged to submit their application materials to ASBO International for the Eagle Award. Please review ASBO’s requirements by clicking here.

Any practicing Ohio School Business Official is eligible for this award.

Selection Process/Criteria
Nominations will be submitted by the OASBO Regional Directors.  The Governing Board of the Foundation for School Business Management will serve as the selection committee. The selection criteria will be based on the following:  

  • How the candidate has assisted the local school entity in maximizing its financial resources beyond the requisite job responsibilities.

  • How the candidate was involved in local community activities, outside the duties of school business administrator, and relating how the community has benefited from your efforts.

  • Describe how the candidate’s commitment to the profession has helped to improve school business management at the local, state/or national levels, by providing professional development opportunities to others.

Click here to download the application.

See past winners.